Review of Utopian Teas’ Iron Goddess of Mercy

Brand: Utopian Teas’ Green Spiral

Tea Rating: 85/100

Steep Time: 3-5 minutes

Steep Temperature: 180 Degrees

Utopian Teas is a newly opened online tea retailer. They currently offer 2 oolongs and 2 greens for buying, but will be adding some varietals soon. All of their teas come straight from individual plantations within the Fujian province & Wuyi Mountains in China. Which ensures good,high quality leaves!

Utopian Teas sources all of their fine teas directly from tea plantations within the Fujian Province in China. This province is on the Southeast coast and is a major producer of tea. Unlike many othe

r province’s in China, the Fujian Province produces a wide variety of teas, for example; a variety of oolongs, white tea, black tea and some scented teas.This particular Ti Kuan Yin is a premium first grade tea. Ti Kuan Yin is has a long preparation period, it is usually  hand rolled and then oxidized lightly.  The process culminates  in a low temperature firing which brings out the most delicate flavors of the tea.

I’ve enjoyed this tea personally for the past week, but haven’t wrote a review because I just wanted to sip on it without having to think about it too much. This tea makes me feel , awake and cleansed in a strange way, because I’ve never felt that way with many teas. I’m sitting outside right now, with my cup of TKY and even though it isn’t sitting close to me,the smell is entrancing and is pulling me in for more and more. The smell alone gives this tea an A. It smells like fresh flowers, maybe a spring day, but with a warm “roasty/toasty” aspect as well.The taste is reminiscent of the smell, the flavor is bold,floral and smooth, almost silky. The floral aspect of the tea typically dries your mouth out, but there is that silky feeling after you swallow that coats my mouth and makes my mouth water a bit. The second steep really brings out the roasty flavor of the tea,which is very refreshing. Also in the second steep, I am starting to really taste some fruity undertones on the tea. The fruity tones remind me of a stone fruit flavor, but definitely darker than peaches, so I think of a plum or maybe cherries. I’m off to steep more of this tea, looking forward to more complex flavors unfurling in future steeps!

Check out Utopian Teas on the web…
Online Store: here
On twitter: here
On Facebook: here
all pictures taken by me

3 responses to “Review of Utopian Teas’ Iron Goddess of Mercy

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Review of Utopian Teas’ Iron Goddess of Mercy « Expanding Leaves: Your Daily Steep -- Topsy.com

  2. It’s exciting to see a lot of people trying teas from this newly launched company. I’ve just added this tea to RateTea.net in case you want to add a link to your review here:

    Utopian Tea – Iron Goddess of Mercy

    We recently added a feature to allow people to easily link up ratings to detailed reviews on their tea blogs…an explanation is in this news post. I’m hoping this can help draw new, casual internet users in, who are interested in tea but may not know about the community of tea bloggers.

  3. That is a wonderful feature! I’m embarrassed to say that I haven’t really taken the time to check out Ratetea.net yet due to a lot of school work during my finals week. But I will de sure to check it out and start using your service! :) It’s great to get other people who might not know much about tea involved in tea and in contact with other tea lovers! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

