Bourgea Tea’s Lucari Chai

Brand: Bourgea Tea

Tea Rating: 80/100

Steep Time: 3-4 minutes

Steep Temperature: 180 Degrees

Upon first look at this tea, I noticed that there were amber cane sugar crystals in the blend, which made me weary, as I am usually not fond of sweetened tea. This tea includes a blend of Sri Lankan Green Tea, Viet Nam Mekong Cinnamon, bits of pineapple and a chai  blend from India. The smell of the dry tea is very spicy, so spicy that it felt like it had cleaned my sinuses. The smell of the steeped liquor was reminiscent of hot spiced cider, with lots of cinnamon. The specialty cinnamon used in the blend really packs some serious heat! The flavor of the tea is light and enjoyable, with a nice cinnamon twang. I would really love to make this tea on the stove, with boiling milk,water and  the chai! The tea would really shine being prepared this way! I was pleasantly surprised with this tea. Looking at the dry leaves, I didn’t spot much green tea, but it must have been masked by the other ingredients. After steeping, there were large leaves everywhere! What a surprise!

I really admire what Chris has done with Bourgea Tea, on my college campus, in the cafe’s there is very little tea selection.The story of the company is Chris was unsatisfied with the tea selection of the cafe on his college campus and started a project to supply great loose leaf tea to the students around him. He started to make the tea bags by hand and sold them in the cafe. ” BourgeaTEA has never lost the vision of challenging the way people think about tea and its emphasis towards college students and living well.”(BourgeaTea.com) This statement and vision is the reason I started this tea blog. When I started getting into tea, I thought there was a stigma about tea, about that only stuffy people drank tea, but through learning more about tea, and working through the stigma, I found out there is more to tea than that!  Check out BourgeaTea, they are doing great things right now in the tea world!

Check out BourgeaTea on the web:

Website: HERE

Facebook: HERE

Twitter: HERE

Want this tea right now? Here!

All photographs included in this post are property of Melissa Wrzesniewsky and are not to be taken,shard, or used without the artists consent.
4 responses to “Bourgea Tea’s Lucari Chai

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Bourgea Tea’s Lucari Chai « -- Topsy.com

  2. It’s funny how tea leaves can hide like that!

  3. Just noticed this review via Steepster, thanks for writing up a review for Bourgea! I designed his website I enjoyed the review. I would have never thought about the milk part, hah. Thanks again it means a lot to have people helping us out.

  4. Alex- I know! I was so surprised after steeping! What a nice surprise!

    Ryan- No problem, I am glad to help you guys out! I make my chai pretty normally with milk! It adds a whole new element to the chai, and tastes great!

Leave a Reply

