Naivetea’s Dong Ding Review

Brand: Naivetea’s Dong Ding
Tea Rating: 92/100
Steep Time: 1 minutes
Steep Temperature: 200-205 Degrees
Price: 2oz tin of tea for $28/ 4oz for $50

 

First thing first, the tea originates from Dong Ding, Central Taiwan and is oxidized at 30% and roasted at 30% as well. The dry tea smells nutty and earthy, and is balanced nicely, with neither coming out more than the other.

Now onto steeping, I prepared this tea for steeping with one teaspoon of tea per 6oz of water and got multiple steeps out of the leaves at around 1 minute per steep. Let’s go watch the tea steep together;

The tea turns out to be a beautiful,striking golden yellow liquor. The first flavors in the tea I taste is a lightly roast quality. I also taste some nice sweet, toasted notes, which remind me a lot of a genmaicha’s sweet/ toasted notes. The combination of both of these flavors is very pleasing to my palate.

The tea is light and smooth in my mouth, and is not excessively heavy at all in my mouth. The tea rolls into my mouth and smoothly around my palate, which I like. This tea is toasted, roasted and sweet all at the same time. In my eyes, this tea would be perfect for people trying to get into the wonderful world of Oolong. This tea is a very balanced tea, and is perfect for those who are not into overly roasted or overly floral oolongs. This tea is a balance between the two.


Check out Naiveteas on the web:

Website: HERE
Facebook: HERE
Twitter: HERE
Want this tea right now? Here!

All videos included in this post are property of Melissa Wrzesniewsky and are not to be taken,shared, or used without the artists consent.

One response to “Naivetea’s Dong Ding Review

  1. I can’t get the time lapse video to work. How many times did you steep this tea? I’m just looking at the appearance of the used tea leaves, and, from my experiences with Dong Ding, when the leaf looks like your picture, it often has a few more steepings left in it. I find that the leaf usually flattens out before the flavor gives out fully.

    This sounds like a really pleasing tea. But do you it was good enough to warrant the price tag? I recently discovered a very good dong ding that was under $8 for 100 grams (a little under 4 oz): Tradition Dong Ding Oolong. For 4oz for $50, you can get some pretty amazing teas. The dong ding I just sampled was very different from your description of this one though; it was much more floral and less nutty. It may be comparing apples to oranges. I had a more nutty/roasty Dong Ding from Arbor teas but I wasn’t crazy about it (in contrast to their other teas, which impressed me), and it was still pricey.

Leave a Reply

